The Weston Road Academy

The Weston Road Primary Acedemy
Life at The Weston Road Academy Life at The Weston Road Academy Life at The Weston Road Academy Life at The Weston Road Academy Life at The Weston Road Academy

SHare (sOCIAL health and relationship education) 

Aims

SHaRE helps students to develop their opinions by presenting them with topics that will challenge their perception of how they fit into the world around them. The curriculum combines relationships education; health and wellbeing (including mental health); and living in the wider world. It enables students to develop relevant knowledge, skills and understanding in these areas in order to have informed views and be able to make informed moral decisions. It therefore prepares them well for life in the modern world. Students’ Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural education is important to all of us at The Weston Road Academy, and the cross-curricular, collaborative nature of the subject is something we are excited about. All students in Years 7-11 have one lesson per week of SHaRE.

Curriculum Structure

Key Stage 3

In Key Stage 3, students develop their ability to understand, analyse and synthesise information and consider the practical issues in a variety of topics including Relationships; Finance; Substance abuse; Keeping safe, Mental and Physical health, Careers (using the Unifrog platform) and Diversity.

Key Stage 4

In Key Stage 4, the subjects are more challenging but appropriate to the students’ age. We tackle similar topics, but at a level that shows more maturity and a deeper understanding. Some of these topics may be research based, which will encourage students to develop their own path through a topic and present their considered opinions to the class. 

Useful Links

http://supportingschoolsstafford.co.uk/

http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/pshe_and_citizenship/

http://www.westonroad.staffs.sch.uk/Parents/Supporting-Your-Child-s-Wellbeing/ 

Staff List

Mr A Potts Subject Leader for SHARE apotts@westonroad.staffs.sch.uk

Mrs C Andrew Teacher of SHARE candrew@westonroad.staffs.sch.uk

Mr C Barlow Teacher of SHARE cbarlow@westonroad.staffs.sch.uk

Mr S Brown Teacher of SHARE sbrown@westonroad.staffs.sch.uk

Mrs J Machin Teacher of SHARE jmachin@westonroad.staffs.sch.uk

Mrs R Stone Teacher of SHARE rstone@westonroad.staffs.sch.uk